LongRangeLocators Forums  

Go Back   LongRangeLocators Forums > Main Forums > General Electronics

Old 08-23-2020, 04:12 PM

Default What capacitor?

Hi I hope you can help me. This is my first time on this forum so I hope I've posted in the correct place.
I'm relatively new to to dark art of electronics.
After my detector( the pw seekit) that I built while at college I the late 70s was damaged beyond repair last week by a leaking workshop roof, I've decided to build a new detector, I've decided on a induction balance design from the 80s,as like the seekit it's simple,
The problem I have is the substitution of polystyrene capacitors, while they are available, there not available locally ( like to support local traders).
What would be a good substitute, mylar? Ceramic? Or tant.?
An ex electronic engineer told me its not the material that maters its the value and voltage, I'm not convinced, what's your recommendations??
Old 08-23-2020, 09:49 PM
Guru (Administrator)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pagan View Post
Hi I hope you can help me. This is my first time on this forum so I hope I've posted in the correct place.
After my detector( the pw seekit) that I built while at college I the late 70s was damaged beyond repair last week by a leaking workshop roof, I've decided to build a new detector, I've decided on a induction balance design from the 80s,as like the seekit it's simple,
The problem I have is the substitution of polystyrene capacitors, while they are available, there not available locally ( like to support local traders).
An ex electronic engineer told me its not the material that maters its the value and voltage, I'm not convinced, what's your recommendations??
You should probably be in the Geotech forum at www.geotech1.com/forums
The LongRangeLocators forum is for ... long range locators ... and I suspect that's not what you're looking for.
Old 08-28-2020, 04:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Qiaozhi View Post