PDA

View Full Version : Using Infrared Radiation for Thing is Ridiculous

goldfinder
02-11-2015, 10:08 PM
I keep seeing the use of infrared radiation (IR) as a method to detect treasure or buried objects long distance. IR is heat and heat does not penetrate more that a few inches into the ground. So it is useless as a THing tool since there will be nothing or close to nothing to distinguish between ambient soil temperature. rocks and other things would give false positives and the rockier the soil the less chance there is.

Now in an old house you might get some difference in something buried in the walls of the house but again, highly unlikely. A regular metal detector would do a better job.

I am an expert on IR as I worked with sensors that were used for military purposes so I know what I am talking about.
Goldfinder

Mike(Mont)
02-12-2015, 12:19 AM
Just curious are you talking about long wave IR like black body radiation? I've always wondered why the MFD's do not penetrate glass same as long wave IR. Of course short wave IR will penetrate. Dell always said the MFD signal line is magnetic. Pretty sure a magnet will penetrate glass. Please enlighten us.

FrancoItaly
02-12-2015, 10:12 AM
You think that the phenomenon of long range detecting is a derivation of the normal metal detecting but it is not, do not apply the laws of classical electromagnetism, an LRL reveals a side effect of a metal buried for a long time and not the metal itself. The fact that this phenomenon is so difficult to measure directly makes me think that in some way are involved Terahertz frequencies that are very close to the range of infrared and therefore such an infrared photography can highlight something different over a buried metal long compared to the surrounding environment.
Regards

WM6
02-12-2015, 03:23 PM
I am an expert on IR as I worked with sensors that were used for military purposes so I know what I am talking about.
Goldfinder