PDA

View Full Version : Seeking desperate solution to impossible problem

desperate warriorprincess
11-11-2010, 01:18 AM
Hi

I am not sure whether I am posting in the right section of the forum.

I think my name sums up pretty well why I am on this forum.

I have sought the assistance of "dowsers" to try to locate whether two precious sentimental objects, one thrown out by my brother, a 1974 hardcover diary and the other by my sister, an oil painting on corkboard, c. 1965, both originally belonging to them, are in landfill. Neither of them realised how much I treasured these things and neither have been recently discarded. I know if they were, they are probably not recoverable. I have had "mixed" readings, mostly saying the items are not there, but one weird one from a guy in U.S. claiming one was in one of the landfills marking the map I sent him with an "X", which was really useful and paying $200 at least, for the privilege.

I am a postgraduate trained scientist and no fool, but when science can't help, because these objects have no geophysical signature that would distinguish them from the background, one is prepared to turn to the "dark side" as it were. I could continue consulting dowsers, sending them enlarged maps of the landfills, emailing them google maps of the landfill sites and my brother and sister's residences, as I have done and am currently thinking of restarting, but I could see myself doing this until the day I die frankly, and they could say anything they wanted (most are generous souls who haven't charged me, by the way) because the onus is not on them to prove it to me. This is the case even with a lady who is located in Sydney, where I live, who dowsed the map together with her friend.